Former Group Members

View Current Members or Former Members

Information changed? Email updates to akishter@chem.wisc.edu!

Postdoctoral / Visiting Researcher

  Melissa MacDonald
Group member: 2014 - 2017
Email: mmacdonald@chem.wisc.edu
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Ottawa (2014)
B.Sc. Chemistry, University of Western Ontario (2009)
  Runhui Liu
Group member: - 2014

Post-Doc. Chemistry, California Institute of Technology (2010)
Ph.D. Chemistry, Purdue University (2009)
M.S. Pesticide Science, East China University of Science and Technology (2004)
B.S. Pharmaceutical Engineering, East China University of Science and Technology (2001)
Professor at East China University of Science and Technology, School of Materials Science and Engineering (2014)
  Pil Seok Chae 
Group member: 2006 - 2011


Asst. Prof. of Bionano Engineering at Hanyang University, South Korea 
  Tomohisa Sawada 
Group member: 2010 - 2011


Asst. Prof., Dept. of Applied Chemistry, University of Tokyo, Japan
  Seth Horne 
Group member: 2005 - 2009


Asst. Prof. of Chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh 
  Brendan Mowery 
Group member: 2006 - 2009


Scientist at Isis
  Jiang Zhu 
Group member: 2008 - 2009


Assoc. Prof. of Chemistry at Northern Sichuan Medical College, China
  Félix Freire 
Group member: 2006 - 2008


Lecturer in Chemistry, University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain 
  Myung-ryul Lee 
Group member: 2006 - 2008


Post-doc with Sean Palecek,UW-Madison Chemical & Biological Engineering 
  Justin Hoerter 
Group member: 2004 - 2007


Scientist at DuPont
  Denis Kissounko 
Group member: 2005 - 2007


  M. Firat Ilker 
Group member: 2004 - 2006


  Timothy J. Peelen 
Group member: 2002 - 2005


Assistant Professor, Lebanon Valley College, PA 
  Hee-Seung Lee
Group member: 1999 - 2003
Email: hee-seung_lee@kaist.ac.kr

Assistant Professor of Chemistry, KAIST, South Korea
  Ahlke Hayen
Group member: 2001 - 2002
Email: ahayen@web.de

Scientist at AstraZeneca, Sweden
  Marina Schinnerl
Group member: 2001 - 2002


FCI Fellow
  Naoki Umezawa
Group member: 1999 - 2002
Email: umezawa@phar.nagoya-cu.ac.jp

Assistant Professor, Nagoya City University Japan
  Hormuzd Mulla 
Group member: 2000 - 2001


Assistant Professor of Materials at Glenmark Pharma, Bombay, India
  Michael Yu 
Group member: 1998 - 2001


Science and Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University
  Dr. Melissa Lucero 
Group member: 1998 - 2000


  Yong Jun Chung
Group member: 1997 - 1999


Senior Research Scientist, Pohang Univ. Sci. Tech., Korea
  Juan Felix Espinosa
Group member: 1998 - 1999
Email: espinosa_juan_f@lilly.com

Scientist, Eli Lily and Company, Madrid, Spain
  Xifang Wang
Group member: 1997 - 1999
Email: xwang@epixmed.com

Scientist, Epix Medical, Boston, MA
  Susanne Krauthauser
Group member: 1999 - 1997
Email: susanne@miltenyibiotec.de

Project Manager (R+D), Miltenyi Biotec, Germany
  Ray D. Skwiercynski
Group member: 1994 - 1996
Email: rdskwierczynski@mmm.com

Scientist, Drug Delivery Group, 3M, Minneapolis, MN
  Ray Skwiercynski 
Group member: 1992 - 1994


Scientist, 3M, Minneapolis

PhD Students

  Marlies Hager Marlies Hager
Group member: 2011 - 2017
Email: mhager@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry, Trinity University (2011)
Post-doc at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  Dale Kreitler Dale Kreitler
Group member: 2011 - 2017
Email: dkreitler@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry & Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Johns Hopkins University (2011)
Post-doc (Andrew M. Gulick) at Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute
  Brian Fisher
Group member: 2011 - 2016
Email: bfisher@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. Biochemistry, B.A. Japanese, Indiana University (2011)
Post-doc (Jared Lewis) at The University of Chicago
  James Checco James Checco
Group member: 2010 - 2015
Email: jchecco@chem.wisc.edu
B.A. Chemistry & Mathematics, St. Olaf College (2010)
Post-doc (Jonathan Sweedler) at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  Ross Cheloha Ross Cheloha
Group member: 2010 - 2015
Email: cheloha@wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (2010)
Post-doc (Hidde Ploegh) at Whitehead Institute
  Vanessa Kung Vanessa Kung
Group member: 2011 - 2015
Email: vkung@wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry & Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2009)
  Stacy Maynard Stacy Maynard
Group member: 2009 - 2015
Email: smaynard@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry, University of Puget Sound (2009)
Post-doc at University of British Columbia
  Younghee Shin Younghee Shin
Group member: 2009 - 2015
Email: yshin22@snu.ac.kr
M.S. Chemistry, Ewha Womans’ University (2007)
B.S. Chemistry, Ewha Womans’ University (2005)
Post-doc at Seoul National University
  Saswata Chakraborty Saswata Chakraborty
Group member: 2010 - 2014
Email: schakraborty@chem.wisc.edu
M.S. Chemistry, Bowling Green State University (2010)
M.Sc. Chemistry, University of Calcutta (2008)
B.Sc. Chemistry, University of Calcutta (2006)
Senior Research Chemist at 3M
  David Mortenson David Mortenson
Group member: 2009 - 2014
Email: mortenson@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. Chemistry, University of Massachusetts Amherst (2009)
Post-Doc at Scripps Research Institute
  Aron Almeida
Group member: - 2012


  Holly S. Haase
Group member: - 2012


  Lisa Johnson
Group member: - 2012


  Jay D. Steinkruger
Group member: - 2012
Email: steinkruger@ucmo.edu

Asst. Prof. of Chemistry, University of Central Missouri
  Michael Giuliano
Group member: - 2011


Post-doc at Yale with Scott Miller
  Nickeisha A. Stephenson
Group member: - 2011


Post-doc with at Harvard with Tobias Ritter
  Li Guo
Group member: - 2010


Scientist at Dow Chemicals, Spring House, PA
  Kimberly (Peterson) Kaufman
Group member: - 2010


Post-doctoral fellow with A. Ansari, UW-Madison
  Matthew A. Windsor
Group member: - 2010


Post-doctoral fellow with L. Marnett at Vanderbilt
  Jihua (Jonathan) Zhang
Group member: - 2010


Post-doc at University of Minnesota with M. Hillmyer
  Melissa D. Boersma
Group member: - 2008


Staff member in mass spectrometry at UW Biotech Center
  Soo Hyuk Choi
Group member: - 2008
Email: sh-choi@yonsei.ac.kr

Asst. Professor, Chemistry, Yonsei University, Korea
  Erik B. Hadley
Group member: - 2008


Scientist at Stemcell, Inc. in Vancouver
  Will Pomerantz
Group member: - 2008


Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
  Josh Price
Group member: - 2008


NIH post-doctoral fellow with Jeff Kelly at Scripps
  Yonggui (Robin) Chi
Group member: - 2007


Asst Prof of Chemistry, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore 
  Emily Payne English
Group member: - 2007


scientist at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory  
  Sarah E. Lee
Group member: - 2006


Scientist, Baxter Healthcare
  Justin K. Murray
Group member: - 2006


Scientist at Amgen
  Jack D. Sadowsky
Group member: - 2006


Scientist at Carmot Therapeutics
  Terra B. Potocky
Group member: - 2005


Scientist, Regeneron
  Tami L. Raguse
Group member: - 2005


Scientist at Centocor
  Margaret A. Schmitt
Group member: - 2005


  John D. ("Nick") Fisk
Group member: - 2004


Assistant Professor of Chemical andBiological Engineering, Colorado State University  
  John D. (Nick) Fisk
Group member: - 2004


Post-Doctoral Fellow, David Tirrell, California Institute of Technology
  Jonathan R. Lai
Group member: - 2004


Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Einstein Medical School
  Jonathan R. Lai
Group member: - 2004


Post-Doctoral Fellow, Chris Walsh, Harvard Medical School
  Matthew G. Woll
Group member: - 2004
Email: mwoll@ptcbio.com

PTC Therapeutics, NJ
  Emilie Porter Huck
Group member: - 2003
Email: ehuck@athersys.com

Associate Scientist, Athersys, Cleveland OH
  Joseph M. Langenhan
Group member: - 2003
Email: jmlangenhan@pharmacy.wisc.edu

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Jon Thorson, University of Wisconsin, School of Pharmacy
  Bayard R. Huck
Group member: - 2002
Email: bhuck@athersys.com

Associate Scientist, Athersys, Cleveland OH
  Paul R. LePlae
Group member: - 2002
Email: pleplae@hotmail.com

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Ron Breslow, Columbia University
  Sonya McKay
Group member: - 2001
Email: mckay@denison.edu

Asst. Professor, Chemistry, Dennison University, Ohio
  Faisal A. Syud
Group member: - 2001
Email: syud@crd.ge.com

Research Scientist, Polymer Chemistry, GE, Albany, NY
  David L. Daugherty
Group member: - 1999
Email: daugherty.dl@pg.com

Research Chemist, Proctor & Gamble, Cincinnati, OH
  Heather E. Stanger
Group member: - 1999
Email: heather.e.haque@accenture.com

Analyst, Andersen Consulting, DE
  Daniel H. Appella
Group member: - 1998
Email: dappella@chem.northwestern.edu

Asst. Professor, Chemistry, Northwestern University, IL
  Tyler D. McQuade
Group member: - 1998
Email: dtm25@cornell.edu

Asst. Professor, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
  Heather L. Schenck
Group member: - 1998
Email: candh@athenet.net

Research Chemist, Kimberly-Clark, Neenah, WI
  Jihong Yang
Group member: - 1998


Post-Doctoral Fellow, Genetech(not current)
  Laurie A. Christianson
Group member: - 1997
Email: elaysee1@yahoo.com

Research Chemist, DuPont Central Research, DE
  Robb R. Gardner
Group member: - 1997
Email: gardner.rr@pg.com

Research Chemist, Procter & Gamble, Cincinnati, OH
  Peter E. Hanson
Group member: - 1997
Email: phanson@wittenberg.edu

Asst. Prof., Chemistry, Wittenberg University
  Tasir S. Haque
Group member: - 1996
Email: tasir.haque@bms.com

Research Chemist, DuPont Pharmaceuticals, Wilmington, DE
  David B. Rozema
Group member: - 1996
Email: DaveR@genetransfer.com

Research Scientist, Mirus Corp., Madison, WI
  Steven K. Holmgren
Group member: - 1995
Email: holmgren@chemsitry.montana.edu

Adjunct Professor, Montana State University
  Lisa F. Newcomb
Group member: - 1995
Email: lfnewcomb@earthlink.net

Post-Doctoral Fellow, H. Noller, UC Santa Cruz (not current)
  David G. Barrett
Group member: - 1993
Email: DB19742@glaxo.com

Research Chemist, Glaxo-Wellcome, NC
  Gregory P. Dado
Group member: - 1993
Email: gdado@stepan.com

Research Chemist, Stepan Co., Chicago, IL
  John M. Desper
Group member: - 1993
Email: desperj@prodigy.net

Crystallographer, Chemisry, Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln
  Paul B. Savage
Group member: - 1993
Email: paul_savage@byu.edu

Asst. Prof., Chemistry, Brigham Young University, Utah
  Elizabeth A. Gallo
Group member: - 1992
Email: eagallo@kodak.com

Research Scientist, Eastman Kodak, Rochester, NY
  Gui-Bai Liang
Group member: - 1992
Email: gui-bai_liang@merck.com

Research Chemist, Merck Research Labs, Rahway, NJ
  Thomas M. Stein
Group member: - 1992
Email: thomas_stein@fmc.com

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Martinsreid, Max Planck Institute (not current)

MS Students

  Xinyu Chen
Group member: 2012 - 2014
Email: B.S. Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2012)

Ph.D. student at University of Pittsburgh
  Carl McBurney
Group member: 2012 - 2014
Email: mcburney.carl@gmail.com

PPD
  Kelsey Mayer
Group member: - 2010


  Brian Parker
Group member: - 2010


  Brooke Richardson
Group member: - 2010


  Lindsay Fay
Group member: - 2009


  Emily Blamer
Group member: - 2008


  Christen M. Bell
Group member: - 2006


Graduate Student in Environmental Science, UW-Madison
  Aaron Peoples
Group member: - 2006


Research Associate at biotechnology firm in Cambridge, MA
  Sannali Matheson
Group member: - 2004


Biotechnology Trainee, PhD earned under John Markley
  Karin W. Otte
Group member: - 2004


Research Associate at Merck
  Margaret Pancost
Group member: - 2004


Research Associate at Novartis
  Brian H. Clare
Group member: - 2002
Email: bhclare@hotmail.com

Graduate Student, Chem. Eng. (U. Wisc-Madison)
  Amy Lee
Group member: - 2000
Email: atlee3@yahoo.com

Graduate Student, Chemistry, U. Wisc-Madison
  Christian P. R. Hackenberger
Group member: - 1999
Email: ch.hackenberger@oc.rwth-aachen.de

Graduate Student, Germany
  Michele R. Richards
Group member: - 1998
Email: mickey@epicsystems.com

Technical Services Rep., Epic Systems Corp., Madison, WI
  Brandy Haptonstall
Group member: - 1997


  Daniel A. Klein
Group member: - 1996
Email: dklein@skgf.com

Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein and Fox Law Firm
  Kurt D. Schladetzky
Group member: - 1994
Email: schladetzky_kurt_d@lilly.com

Research Associate, Eli Lilly Co., Indianapolis, IN
  Hao Zhang
Group member: - 1994
Email: hxz10@po.cwru.edu

Medical Student, Case Western Reserve Univ.
  Jennifer Little
Group member: - 1993
Email: jennifer.little@llcc.cc.il.us

Chemistry Instructor, Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, IL
  Christopher J. Rito
Group member: - 1991


Research Associate, Eli Lilly Co., Indianapolis, IN